Being like Jesus…..

 

Pressing Toward the Goal  Philippians 2 Inline image

12 Not that I have already attained,[c] or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have [d]apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Good Morning. Yesterday we found that the Apostle Paul strived for being successful in attaining the resurrection of the dead and that glorified body. Not that Paul already attained or successfully achieved that status but Paul strived to do the best he could to be Christlike in his life. Paul sought to know Jesus in such a way that he understood the power that raised Jesus from the dead. This power that raised Jesus from the dead is the life-giving Holy Spirit that you and I as believers in Christ possess. Are we being influenced by Him daily? Living in obedience to God may require us to forget some of the things that we have done in the past and put them behind us and reach forth for those things which are ahead. Have we called out to God to guide us in that quest to be more Christlike? A great promise on that subject is found in Jeremiah 33:3  ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things that you do not know.” These things for the Christian are knowing Jesus as Savior, God answering prayer, the reality of knowing you are going to heaven, healing us of diseases etc. Also in 1Corinthians 2: But as it is written:“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard Nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”10 But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God. So we see that our human senses can not perceive the things of God however God wants us after we are saved (the Christian) to know these things and He reveals them to us through the Holy Spirit, these are the deeper things of God plus many more and they are believed only through Jesus and the Holy Spirit! Lastly, Galatians 6 tells us: And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.

 
God bless, Terry Aug 31, 2020

Author: walkingwithjesusbyhisword

I am a born-again believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. I was saved in 1975. And I love to share the word of God and I believe that it changes people’s lives. I am a retired electrician.

Leave a comment