Knowing Jesus.

Philippians 2Inline image
 But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 
 
Good Morning. How important are worldly accomplishments to you as compared to knowing Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord? Paul the Apostle answers that question here in our text as he counted all his religious accomplishments in life as rubbish compared to the surpassing knowledge of Jesus! Although necessary do we put the things we accomplish and the accolades we receive in life above knowing Jesus and living for Him first? Is the attitude of our hearts and the realization that our good deeds and good works can never make us righteous in the eyes of our Heavenly Father? Do we realize the imputed righteousness that comes by faith in the Righteous One, Jesus Christ? Paul sought to know Him (Jesus) and the power of Jesus’ resurrection and the fellowship that he had as he suffered for the sake of Jesus! Is to know Jesus at the top of our goals? Do we seek to be led by the power that raised Jesus from the dead aka the Holy Spirit? Do we understand the deeper fellowship we have with Jesus during times of suffering? Are we becoming like Jesus when He lovingly gave His life for a world of sinners? I will not attempt to answer those questions because I know that I have a lot of growing in Christ ahead of me for me to be able to say that I consistently do all those things or seek those things! But one Day we as Christians will know Him and be like Him for we will see Him as He is! (1John 3:2) More on this tomorrow.                                            God bless you all this Lord’s day, Terry  August 30, 2020

Author: walkingwithjesusbyhisword

I am a born-again believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. I was saved in 1975. And I love to share the word of God and I believe that it changes people’s lives. I am a retired electrician.

Leave a comment